Skip to content

Tripura Lok Sabha elections 2024: 13.96 lakh voters including 16,260 Brus casting their votes in phase 2

All necessary steps have been taken to ensure a free and fair second phase of the Lok Sabha elections in the East (ST) parliamentary constituency in Tripura where the elections will take place on April 26.

While there are nine candidates in the fray in Tripura East Lok Sabha constituency, the main battle will be between BJP candidate Kirit Singh Debbarma and CPIM candidate Rajendra Reang.

This Lok Sabha seat includes all constituencies of Dhalai, North, Unakoti, Khowai and 4 ACs of South Tripura and 3 ACs of Gomati district.

A total of 13,96,761 voters will cast their votes for the East Lok Sabha constituency, of which 7,02,511 are male voters, 6, 94, 237 are female voters and 13 are transgender voters. Voting starts at 7 a.m. and lasts until 5 p.m.

As many as 16,260 Bru voters, based in different locations, will cast their votes in the parliamentary constituency.

Also read: Tripura BJP troubles show cause for notice to Vice President over “Nautanki-baaz” comment against Pradyot Debbarma

The parliamentary constituency has 1,664 polling booths, of which 158 are in the urban area and 1,506 in rural areas, and more than 16,000 polling agents and security personnel are involved in the voting process.

Of these polling stations, 384 polling stations are vulnerable and 40 are critical polling stations.

The Returning Officer of the East (ST) Parliamentary Constituency, Saju Vaheed, has stated that an adequate number of CAPF personnel have been deployed along with the Tripura State Rifles and the Tripura Police to maintain peace during the elections. to guarantee. day. He also said that there will be 100% webcasting in all polling stations.

So far, the CPIM has won 11 of the 15 Lok Sabha elections in the Tripura East constituency, with Bajuban Reang of the CPIM being the most often MP.

The CPIM has held this seat since 1996, with the BJP gaining influence in recent years. In the 2019 elections, BJP candidate Rebati Tripura won with 482,126 votes, followed by Congress candidate Pragya Deb Burman and CPIM candidate Jitendra Chaudhary. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, CPIM’s Jitendra Chaudhary won from Tripura East seat, defeating Congress candidate Sachitra Deb Burman.